Skip to content


NIHL NATIONAL DIVISION END OF SEASON AWARDS ANNOUNCED.The National Ice Hockey League is pleased to announce the National Division all-star teams and end of season awards for 21/22. As the curtain comes down on the second NIHL National campaign with the Final Four weekend in Coventry, a poll of clubs and media has revealed the first- and second-team All Stars as well as Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year and Coach of the Year.

Voters were asked to name their selection in the individual categories as well as their all-star line – one netminder, two defence and three forwards.  All of the votes were combined to produce our final winners announced today.
Congratulations to everyone selected and here’s to a successful Final Four weekend for those involved on and off the ice

First Team All Star

NM – Sam Gospel (Leeds Knights) league-leading .914 save percentage in 41 league games, won 25 games for the Knights
D – Ed Bradley (Bees) also shortlisted in Young Player category the 21-year-old had 11+32=43 in 46 games for the Berkshire club
D – Callum Buglass (Peterborough Phantoms) an ever-present on the blueline, 6+20=26 and only 4 PIM
F – Kieran Brown (Leeds Knights) a pretty unanimous pick, played in all 48 games 54+55=109 in the yellow & blue
F – Jason Hewitt (Sheffield Steeldogs) another prolific campaign for the former Hull star.  42+50=92 from 44 games as a Dog
F – Aaron Nell (Swindon Wildcats) combining player-coach and GM at the Link, still time to pot 39+46=85 in 47 games

Second Team All Star

NM – Brad Day (Telford Tigers) second successive league title, 29 wins, .907 save percentage and 2.92 GAA
D – Tom Norton (Peterborough Phantoms) all 48 on the Phantoms blueline, 14+27=41 and 71PIMS for the 31-year-old
D – Jonathan Weaver (Telford Tigers) key piece of the Tigers core, 7+29=36 from 39 games and more silverware
F – Glenn Billing (Peterborough Phantoms) top-scoring 23+40=63 for Slava Koulikov’s side, key goals taking them to Final Four
F – Scott McKenzie (Telford Tigers) #77 potted 77 points (26+51) in 43 games to lead Tigers scoring
F – Jason Silverthorn (Telford Tigers) Tigers’ long-serving captain had 28+25=53 in 43 games and hoisted more hardware to the ceiling this year

An almost unanimous choice from clubs and media, bagging over 50 goals, over 100 points and many highlight reel moments throughout the season, the NIHL National Player of the Year is Kieran Brown of the Leeds Knights.

A much closer vote with several worthy nominations notably Ed Bradley and Jack Hopkins, however once again the winner is Kieran Brown of Leeds Knights.

Combining his role with that of GM, winning the League in both seasons of its existence and once again building a great team which is arguably greater than the sum of its parts, this was again an almost unanimous choice with voters.  This season he also returned to the ice as injury cover and played alongside his brother Jack and son Sam.  NIHL National coach of the year is Telford Tigers’ Tom Watkins.

Watch out for further news and scores at Telford Tigers, You can also catch up on FacebookTwitter or why not be the first to catch up on the match night highlights and subscribe to our YouTube Channel